Ode To A Lawnmower [Revived]

We walked for miles, avoiding bees

Up and down, around the trees

Until today on weekly parade

You finally cut your very last blade

 

I recall the day the smelly man

Sold you to me second hand

11 years a faithful friend

And now it’s all come to an end

 

 

We started off at normal pace

Along the path leaving no space

Three-quarters done in the blink of an eye

Then I felt your motor die

 

You might have whirred your very last spin

But I won’t put you in the bin

I’ll leave you on the garage wall

And see if you’re repairable

 

I thought I’d try just one last bid

With Phillips in hand, removed the lid

Noticed the bushes were slightly worn

Pushed them in &  the mower was reborn

 

Alas today it’s second wind

Has finally come to an end

Rest in peace old friend…

2 comments

  1. theuneasyreaper · July 5, 2016

    A cracking tale Danny!
    Lazarus the lawnmower!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. peskyquietman · July 28, 2016

    Thank you, Eddie. It’s still going strong. I always abide by the golden rule ‘if it stops working tap it gently with a hammer’ :@)

    Like

Leave a comment